Posted by: counselorcarmella | July 12, 2011

The Four A’s for an A+ Relationship, Part Two

Originally published on


In part one of this article, we discussed  the first two “A’s for an A+ Marriage.”  They are  appreciation and apologizing.  The  other two are attention and affection.


Attention.  Paying attention means being aware and observant in your marriage. It means really “showing up” not just phoning in your participation or physically being present while being mentally somewhere else.

Paying attention or giving attention means your spouse gets pieces of your time and energy throughout the day. This is about noticing what your spouse is wearing, being interested in his/her day, and knowing the things that are important to him/her.  Paying attention means remembering to ask about that big work project or stressful situation with colleagues. It means calling just to say “Hi, I was thinking about you,” or    saying, “You look nice in that sweater.”


Paying attention also means looking at your spouse when he/she is talking to you and being aware enough to say, “You look angry/worried/upset.  What’s up?”  It means remembering anniversaries and birthdays and other dates that are important to your spouse. It means setting aside time to focus on your spouse and your relationship. Time should be set aside each week to really talk, go to dinner, or engage in an activity that will allow you to focus on your spouse and nurturing the friendship and romance.  This is very important for every couple. But paying attention to your spouse can’t just happen during these “designated” times. It also must be done in small ways every day. 


Affection. Affection means touch. This does not just mean sex. It does not just mean “making a move” on your spouse or even being flirty, though touch is very important for romance and sexual intimacy.

It means small gestures of physical contact throughout the day. It means brushing your spouse’s arm when you walk by, a light touch on the back or shoulder, reaching over to take your spouse’s hand while riding in the car, or a playful poke or swat. It means offering a hug when your spouse gets home from a long day at work, rubbing his/her feet, or   snuggling on the couch while watching TV. 


It is important that touch be given at other times besides in the bedroom or when trying to initiate sex. Touch is a way of connecting with your partner and does not have to have an ulterior motive. It is friendly and supportive and helps your partner feel close to you. Affection can also include aiming a smile your partner’s way, calling them by a special pet name, or giving them a wink or a nod.   


Add more of these 4 A’s to your marriage and you’ll be reducing, and even preventing, a lot of common marital difficulties.  The climate of your relationship will be more positive and you’ll be working smarter, rather than working harder, at strengthening the bond between you and your spouse.  The four A’s of appreciation, apology, attention, and affection make the good times more satisfying and make the rough times easier to get through.



  1. […] The Four A’s for an A+ Relationship, Part Two ( […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: